Freezer Cooking: Storing Soup

It’s no secret.  We’re a teensy bit lazy here at Clutterhome.  I mean, it’s not like we live in a pig pen or anything.  But, I will gladly skip cooking in favor of hitting up one of our favorite local restaurants.

Our bank account likes it better when we cook at home, though.

We try and make the cooking process as pain free as possible, and LOVE quick easy recipes.  Freezer cooking allows us to cook once and feed ourselves 4 or 5 additional meals down the road.  As a military spouse who often finds myself alone, this method also helps me make cheap meals for one person without having to cut recipes down to smaller sizes.  Hooray!  Lazy loophole!

And it makes for a happy Erika because it means less dishes!

Today I made a big ol’ pot of “X Soup.”  It’s a tweaked and personalized-to-our-tastes version of Southern Plate’s Taco Soup.  There’s a whole story behind why we call it “X Soup,” but the short version is that it’s named after my future-sister-in-law, Christina, whom I affectionately refer to as X-tina, or “X” for short.

Soups and chilis, once prepared, can be frozen for up to 4 months.  The easiest way I’ve found is to separate enough for one meal and seal it in a Ziploc bag.  For my two person family, that’s about 3 cups.

For safety purposes, make sure you label the bag with the contents and the date prepared!  You don’t want a bunch of unknown soup cluttering up your freezer.  Trust me, you won’t be brave enough to eat it.

I like to take multiple bags, lay them flat in the freezer, and after they freeze I stand them upright so they take up less room.

They defrost quickly, but I usually remove it from the freezer the night before I plan on eating some good ol’ X Soup.  I let it thaw in the ClutterFridge and then reheat it for dinner!  It’s yummy with cornbread (which also freezes well!).

In case you’ve lost track, the countdown to ClutterBaby is roughly 2.5 months!  We’re going to be stocking our freezer with ready made meals between now and then, we’ll be bringing you more freezer cooking tips and recipe suggestions that work well for other lazy efficient people like us.

I know Clutterhubs STILL doesn't see it, but Clutterbaby looks like Skeletor to me.

See where we’ve linked up today!

10 Comments

Filed under ClutterTips, Foodie Friday

10 responses to “Freezer Cooking: Storing Soup

  1. Love this idea! I always make too much soup and end up tossing a bunch…will be freezing it from now on! Visiting and now following via Welcome Wednesday hop…hop on over to my blog and follow back if you like! http://mom4realky.blogspot.com

    Jessica K

  2. Hi! Stopping by to Stumble from STT (I’m a little behind LOL).

    I love freezing soups! Especially soups I can toss together in the crock pot. I’ve gotten in the habit of freezing everything flat. It makes stuff so much easier to store!

    My post is http://www.mamamommymom.com/2011/06/rosemary-pork-heaven.html

    Jamie @ Mama.Mommy.Mom.
    http://www.mamamommymom.com
    http://www.twitter.com/mamamommymom
    http://www.facebook.com/mamamommymom

  3. I love taco soup. I’ve been known to freeze it too! Usually one batch for us will make dinner for the night, some to freeze, and some for lunch the next day.

    Saw you at Paisley Passions and stopped by. Feel free to come by my little blog sometime soon. 🙂

  4. It took A LOT of convincing, but I finally talked my father into freezing his freshly squeezed orange juice this way. He wanted to use 2 liter bottles. Once he relented, he was pleased with the result. Thanks for sharing!

    • I never thought of freezing juice! I waste a LOT when my husband is deployed and I can’t finish a carton before it goes bad. I’m going to freeze half next time I open one. Thanks for the tip!

  5. GREAT ideas here. Love your site. and IT’S not cluttered at all. Hmmm wonder what that means?

    More later.

  6. Yum!! I love having stuff stored away in the freezer for a lazy…er…rainy day! Thanks for linking up on Recipes I Can’t Wait to Try!!!

Leave a Reply

