ClutterCloset Organization: Sheet Storage

To recap, here is our disaster starting point:

This is probably hard to believe, but I know how to fold fitted sheets.  Thank you, military school (I learned by watching YouTube videos over and over.  Yes, I just admitted that).  I just choose not to do it properly most of the time.  But as you can see, there actually are some decently folded sheets, fitted and flat, lurking in the depths of our linen closet.  Squint your eyes and look really closely . . . I promise they’re there.  (Okay, not really, but it was worth a shot).

I saw this amazing tip online this morning.  Miss Martha herself suggests storing sheet sets inside one of the pillowcases.  Why didn’t I think of that?

Of course mine don’t look that pretty, but it’s really convenient!  Especially if you’re like me and own about 10 different kinds of mis-matched sheet sets.  Typically my pillow cases don’t match my sheets because, in the big scheme of things, it really doesn’t matter.  But storing everything together in the linen closet is going to streamline my sheet changing process in ways you can’t imagine!  I won’t have to spend 10 minutes searching for pillow cases anymore!

Ok, so my sheets aren’t as pretty as Martha’s.  That’s okay.  And in doing this I realized that I only have 3 sets of sheets that actually have matching pillowcases.  That’s okay, too.  This is a great start to reorganizing the ClutterCloset, and this is still a great tip that I wholeheartedly endorse.

19 Comments

Filed under ClutterTips

19 responses to “ClutterCloset Organization: Sheet Storage

  1. changingmoods

    I need to learn how to fold fitted sheets. My method of folding them at the moment is comprised of half folding them, and half balling them up.

    I also like the idea of putting sheet sets in a pillowcase. That looks like a great space-saver.

    • For me it was one of those “Why didn’t I think of that?” moments. I could be the next Martha Stewart . . . If I was organized and clever, that is.

  2. love it!! I so need to do that. Great tip.
    ❤ your newest follower http://athriftydiva.com

  3. The pillow case idea is so clever, but then again that means I’ll have to learn to fold the sheets correctly. The flat sheet isn’t so bad, but I won’t mention how badly the fitted sheets look mashed in my dresser drawers so they will fit in the space.

  4. I desperately need to UNclutter my whole house! Your post has given me a bit of inspiration. Thanks.

    http://www.rebeccabany.com
    http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/becbany

  5. Hello, Newest twitter follower from Give it to me Monday… hope you’ll consider following me back xo Malia

  6. Hello…

    What a great idea…storing sheets inside one of the pillow cases! Love that! I don’t know why I never thought of that before as well! Hehe! Thanks so much for sharing the tip and for joining in with the Sunday Favorites repost party this week!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

  7. I tried doing that for a while, but we never stuck with it.

  8. amy

    Oh, Martha is a genius. I never thought of thi before either, but now I’m gonna have to try it.

  9. Great idea! Thanks for sharing! Beautiful blog you got here! Hope to see you on my blog:)

  10. Pingback: Our ClutterCloset was Featured! |

Leave a Reply

