DIY Nautical Nursery: No-sew Curtains

So, here’s a confession.  I have never, ever purchased curtains.  We don’t have any in our house, and in my 9+ years of not living with my parents I never have.  I’ll Clutter my home up with all kinds of messy goodness, but curtains?  That’s a little high-falootin’ for us!

But the Clutterbaby’s nursery was looking a little bare.

Oh, oops. I missed a spot while painting. Like an entire wall. Easy to fix, though,

So I'm not the best painter in the world. My baby won't mind, so I'm cool with it.

We’re doing a Nautical theme to coordinate with our DIY nautical art (found here).  Truth be told, it’s a Disney’s Steamboat Willie theme but that’s a topic for another day.  I found these awesome curtains at Ikea for roughly $25, and I snagged the cheapest curtain rod I could find for a grand total of $32 per window.  That’s a lot for me, folks.

They’re not nautical signal flags, but they coordinate beautifully without being too in-your-face matchy matchy. I pulled them out of the package and . . .

Tripping hazards are not a good thing.

Luckily, Ikea includes some no-sew, iron-on hem tape.  I had some left over from my crib skirt I made (tutorial coming soon!), but I didn’t even have to use it since it was included in the package.  Neat!  Ikea speaks my uncrafty language.

I decided I wanted them 72″ long and marked that spot on both sides with tape, because I’m fancy like that.  I folded it up, pinned it, and shoved some iron-on hem tape in there and pressed it.  I figured I might as well iron the whole darn thing while I was at it.  That is so out of character for me.  It must be the pregnancy brain.  Next time, I’ll throw them in the dryer on touch up with a wet wash cloth.  That’s more my style.

These pins came off of one of Clutterhusband's new dress shirts. One day I might invest in actual straight pins (but probably not).

Much better!  Except . . .

Oh, hey! Nice paint streak on the carpet, Erika . . .

I will never be one of those neat, tidy people who can do things without spilling paint or breaking bones.  But Lady Gaga told me that God makes no mistakes, so it must be true.

Nothing a little $20 rug (also Ikea) can't fix!

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts for the Uncrafty, DIY

One response to “DIY Nautical Nursery: No-sew Curtains

  1. Pingback: DIY Nautical Nursery: Storage Bucket |

Leave a Reply

