Foodie Friday! Reese’s ClutterCake

I knew what I was making for this week’s desert the moment I set my eyes on this bad boy from I Sew, Do You?.

Mmmm

However, on my almost daily trip to the grocery store (I’m not good at shopping all at once) I found that they didn’t carry Reese’s Pieces.  I was heartbroken, to say the least, so I wandered around a bit and decided I was going to make up my own version of a Reese’s Cake.

I’m not much for fancy cookin’.  I just had a microwaveable lunch (that I also picked up today on my daily grocery store run), and will probably eat something just as low maintenance for supper.

But I am one for “fancying up” simple recipes and pretending like I did some real cooking.  Work smarter, not harder!  Here is the Reese’s ClutterCake that I came up with:

Ingredients!

I’m not a brand snob.  If I had the option of buying generic brand, I absolutely would.  But I live overseas and, though I am adventurous with trying food, I enjoy the comfort of American products and my selection is limited.  I opted for the Duncan Hines because the cake came with a $0.35 cent coupon for the frosting.  ClutterHubs would be so proud!

Step 1) Make your cake!  If you’re like me (lazy), you might try the Cluttermethod of cooling cakes.  I let the pan cool for about 10 minutes and then stick that puppy in the freezer so it cools off quickly.  Patience is a wonderful thing, but God must’ve figured He had already blessed me with so much that He just went ahead and left that one out.  Don’t stick it directly in the cold after removing it from the oven, though.  That’s too much of a temperature difference too quickly and things could explode.  So I’ve read, anyway.

Step 2)  While your cake is in the freezer cooling, mix up your frosting.

Dump your frosting in a bowl. I used CHOCOLATE. Mix in some peanut butter. I used around a cup (I guess), but it's really a taste thing. Go with your tastebuds and you won't be wrong.

I used a hand mixer, but everything is nice and soft so you can probably just stir it.  It looks really creamy once it’s all mixed together.

Ohhhh, I just LOVE chocolate and peanut butter!

I was going to just frost it in the pan, but I realized I would have a lot of extra frosting.  So, I tried to be fancy and slice it into layers to add more CHOCOLATE AND PEANUT BUTTER.  It was super crooked.  Guess who cares?  Not Clutterholic!

Make sure you slice yours crooked, too. Otherwise it's not a true ClutterCake.

But do you see what I was going for?  Sort of a frosting and cake “sandwich.”

Wow, it just gets uglier and uglier! But tastier, too!

Step 3 (or 4 if you sliced and diced):  Frost your cake!  It was hard for me to spread, so I stuck it in the microwave for about 30 seconds.

Next, slice your Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and generously sprinkle them on top of your ClutterCake.

Too sweet? No such thing!

Have a slice and enjoy the fruits of your labor.  You probably won’t even be able to tell how crooked you sliced it to make your “sandwich.”

It's ain't pretty, but it's GOOD. And that's what cake is all about.

6 Comments

Filed under Foodie Friday

6 responses to “Foodie Friday! Reese’s ClutterCake

  1. I need this in my life!

  2. This looks HEAVENLY!!!

  3. kim

    Wow… this would have really hit the spot when I was pregnant and craving peanut butter all the time 🙂

Leave a Reply

