Putting the “Pay Someone Else” in DIY Since 2007

We’ve actually tackled all kinds of fun DIY projects in our 4 years of marriage.  They’ve all turned into one hot mess after another, and usually result in us (in the end) spending even more money because we have to hire someone to:

A) Clean up our disaster attempt while we pretend it was the *previous* owners
B) Fix our mistakes, and
C) Finish the project.  Neat!

We’re also kind of . . . sloppy disorganzied?  I’m currently a stay-at-home-(almost)mom, but I’m pretty much the worst housewife ever.  If you told me to hard boil an egg, I’d have to Google the step-by-step instructions first.  I wish I were kidding.

I typically ruin everything I cook.  I’m not patient enough to wait for a cake to completely cool before I frost it and, apparently, that makes the frosting melt into a pretty amazing mess.  I found out the hard way that if you leave wet clothes in the washing machine long enough they will, in fact, start to smell and grow all kinds of fun little furry organisms.  Mold?  Mildew?  I have no idea what the difference is.  Apparently college (and several semesters of Chemistry) was really just a colossal waste of my time and someone else’s money.  Sorry, folks!

And then there’s my husband.  My dear, sweet, amazing husband who seems to think it’s totally normal to stockpile empty cans of Mountain Dew and to keep a pile of dirty socks on the floor within arms reach of an empty hamper.  But, of course he thinks it’s acceptable.  Our dogs make themselves right at home in piles of dirty clothes, and they just look so stinkin’ cute that we don’t exactly discourage it.  I have bajillions of adorbs pictures of them just lounging anywhere they darn well please.

Case(s) in point:

There's an 80% chance that we made the bed 5 minutes before this

Baxter making himself at home in my in-laws guest room

Ben and our "clean clothes"

But I really love going to other people’s homes and admiring how cute and quaint their decorating skills are, and I read a lot of blogs by cool people who are awesome at DIY and home-making.  We’re just not those people, and I reckon we never will be.  I’m cool with it, though.  I am a messy clutterholic, and I make no apologies for that.  ❤

Leave a comment

Filed under Clutterhome Family

Leave a Reply

