DIY: Mason Jar Storage

I have an odd fascination with Mason jars.   I use them to store things like rice, chocolate chips, and dry pasta and keep them out on display in my kitchen.  I just think they’re real purdy, that’s all.  I came across this on Pinterest, originally from Weeping Cherries, and I was immediately struck with Mason jar envy.

The above Mason jar storage rack was made from wall molding, mason jars, and hose clamps.  

Sounds easy enough, right? . . . but is it easy enough to be Erika proof?  Since I have a tendency to ruin every DIY attempt, I was cautious but decided it was worth the $15 risk.  After a trip to my local hardware store, I came home armed with 4 hose clamps and a piece of wood to mount everything to.  Oh, and this crazy Japanese paint because it’s all I have access to since I live in Japan and all.

Interestingly enough, my hose clamps had MADE IN THE USA stamped on the side.  I wouldn’t think that was interesting, except the packaging looked like this:


So I guess if you want products made in China, head to the USA.  If you want products made in the USA then you should do your shopping at Japanese hardware stores.

I had taken several pictures of every step, because I know y’all love seeing pictures of me spray painting, measuring, and nailing.  However, we had a little ClutterCamera incident this evening.

Can you spot the difference between the two people in these images below?

I’ll give you a hint . . . there is no difference!  They’re both me!  I have really bad luck around anything that involves computers and always break them, or catch them on fire, or just throw them across the room because I hate them and can’t work them.  In retrospect, maybe I should have studied something practical that I could use in my everyday life.  Like napping (though I did a whole lot of that in college, too).

So, long story short, I need a new camera memory card and I don’t have step-by-step pictures.  Basically, I spray painted my wood frame, nailed the hose clamps onto the board, added the Mason jars, and then decided it looked funny and added a picture frame for good measure.  I’ll eventually replace the picture with something adorable, like maybe a self-portrait or an awesome picture of the Clutterdogs.  For now, it has random bathroom clutter in it (cotton balls, Q-Tips, and wash cloths) but eventually it’s going in our nursery to hold miscellaneous baby thingumabobs.

Don’t forget to check out where we’re linked up!

16 Comments

Filed under DIY

16 responses to “DIY: Mason Jar Storage

  1. This is very cute! I love the bright yellow and that you added the picture frame. Great idea!

  2. I love it!! I’ve had a similar idea for awhile, but wasn’t quite sure how to execute it! This is perfect!! Makes me want to make one now! =)

  3. super cute! look out i just got inspired! :)

  4. KB

    Love the jar idea.

  5. Funkytime

    love the yellow!

  6. Clutterholic, you are cracking me up. Been on your blog for about 20 minutes and now want to have lunch with you. You have impeccable taste and so many creative impulses it’s scary. That closet is too funny. Congrats on your pregnancy, thanks for following my blog. More later. Keri

  7. Ohh and the bit with breaking the laptops and that your camera won’t work. I can so relate! It’s amazing how it can all gang up on you, isn’t it?

  8. That’s a very cute idea!

  9. This looks amazing! Loving the sunshiney happy yellow color and the storage is awesome! Hope you will share your storage and your comedy with my Pink Hippo Party @ http://pinkapotamus.blogspot.com/2011/06/pink-hippo-party-34.html

Leave a Reply

